Located in Zhedao, Lianghe County, Xuanfu Department of Nandian sits southeast (face northwest). It is commonly known as Chieftain Yamen, a government office in feudal China. Built in the first year under the reign of Qing Chengfeng (1851), the department came to a completion after 84 years of continous expansion through three generations of chieftains. Xuanfu Department of Nandian boasts of vast territory, enormous power and long history. The officers there were hereditary for twenty-nine generations which lasted five hundred years. With a floor space of 10625 square meters and a gross area of 7780 square meters, it is one of the most intactly preserved chieftain Yamen in China. It was announced by the State Council as state-level preservation units of cultural relics in December 1996 and classified as a national AAAA level scenic spot by National Tourism Administration in December 2004. In 2015, Museum of Chieftain in West Yunnan was established, offering living fossils for research in chieftain system and chieftain culture of Dai ethnic group. Arranged in Han architectural features, the architectural complex in Nandian Xuanfu Department consists of four main courtyards, ten side courtyards, forty-seven buildings and one hundred and forty-nine rooms. It is divided into first hall, second hall, third hall and main hall. After entering the four main courtyards, one is presented with a simple, graceful and magnifcant view featuring large beams, tall pillars and grey-green roof tile. Behind the courtyards, there stand garden, study, mansions of ladies, theatrical stage, kitchen, grain depot, stable, armory, smoking room, prison, school and housing for servants. The courtyards, mansions and halls are interlinked.